Some might consider the heavily armored knight to be
the final word in medieval combat, but the Long Bow
and the Trebuchet may be the pinnacle of military
technology in the High Middle Ages. Neither one was
easy to acquire or operate, and both require specialized
companies of skilled warriors to field effectively.

The normal card rules of Ortus Regni and the normal
victory conditions apply.

The Armory mat places two specialized military
Companies before each player’s position. To make
use of these companies they must be Captained by a
Vassal card.

To use a company, an Earl must place a Vassal

card down, on their turn, as their Action, on that
company. This Vassal then becomes the Captain of
that company, and remains so until killed in battle or
assassinated by Treachery. These Vassal Captains are
not Vassal Lords, and are instead fully occupied in
their special role; and do not participate in combat in
the normal manner, instead the power of that Vassal
Captain’s company - Long Bow or Trebuchet — may
now be used in Combat.

Armory

2-4 player, Ortus Regni variant mat

These military companies are not themselves fielded
forces in the normal manner, and instead provide
their unique power to their Earl’s fielded forces;

i.e. that Vassal Captain does not send or receive 1
damage in battle, and is only there to make that
specific and special military technology available.

Long Bow Company

The Long Bow Company reduces the incoming
damage from opposing Knights, Champions,
Mercenaries, and Viking Chieftains to 1 damage (i.e.
all incoming 2’s are reduced to 1%).

Trebuchet Company

The Trebuchet Company reduces the damage
required to siege a Castle or Palace to 1 point.
Therefore all Properties, Castles and Palaces are
strength 1 to an Earl who can employ the siege train
supplied by the Trebuchet company. Because of this,
it almost never makes sense to employ a Raid attack
once you have this Company active, as a Siege only
requires 1 point of damage to reach the heart of a
Fief!

Fielding a Company into Battle

If an Earl has placed a Vassal Captain on one of their
two specialized companies they may then field that
technology into a battle, on defense or offense.

If you choose to field a particular company - or both
— then its special power is applied to that battle. Both
sides can, of course, field specialized companies into

the same battle.

Page 1 of 2 | @RTUS REGNT



If the Battle Result card goes against you, though,
you cannot Ransom your Vassal Captains. They are
not proper Lords and do not have that status. If the
Battle Result card goes against you then any Vassal
Captains fielded are lost; their Company is routed and
disbanded in the catastrophe.

However you can reconstitute a lost Company

by placing another Vassal down, as an Action, on
your next turn. Vassal Captains can be Treachery
assassinated. Note, they are not Vassal Lords and thus
cannot participate in Political Struggles.

The Long Bow was the scourge of the mounted knight,
able to pierce incredible thicknesses of armor when used
by a skilled archer as a volley weapon. Long Bows were
used to devastating effect by the English in their wars

in France. The Trebuchet siege train represented here
can be thought of as including all early siege techniques:
from ladders and incendiary projectiles to the denial of
drinking water, or the tunneling of walls or turrets.

These are powerful military tools, how many Vassals
can you afford to use for such exotic resources? But can
you afford not to, lest another great Earl overmatches
you on the battle field?
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