Danelaw

2-6 player, Ortus Regni variant mat

The Danes left their Long Boats behind and settled in the
North East of your nation. They crushed the Anglo-Saxon
kingdom of Northumbria along the way, and now rule a
kingdom of their own up north known as the Danelaw! See
that they do not take over the whole of England, by keeping
them in their place.

The normal Earl Card rules of Ortus Regni and the
normal victory conditions apply. Holding a Fief in the
Danelaw will allow an Earl to remain in the game, even
if all the Fiefs in their Earldom are lost.

There are 3 Fiefs in the Danelaw. Each of these are
captured separately. And each Danelaw Fief is a Castle,
strength 2, and also initially (and when neutral again)
has 2 Viking Infantry which are automatically fielded
on defense when attacked.

An Earl must therefore initially siege a Danelaw

fief with 4 incoming attack points to claim it; Each
Fief is initially defended, so a Battle Card will be
drawn. Danelaw Fiefs, like the Vikings, do not accept
Ransoms.

When a Danelaw Fief is attacked, move the white
combat marker out as normal.

When a Danelaw Fief has been captured, and the battle
has been resolved:

1) If the Fief was taken from the Danes, and not

from another Earl, the conquering Earl who “freed”

it draws 1 Army card from the Army deck. These are
grateful Anglo-Saxon warriors of the former Kingdom of
Northumbria, now called the Danelaw, rallying to your
banner.

2) Place a Viking bag cube of that Earl’s color into the
circle by that Fief. The captured Fief is now part of that
Earl’s holdings. The property can be used by that Earl
— to Recruit or Field armies — but Danelaw Fiefs have
some limitations.

Due to their great distance from the heartland of your
Earldom, Danelaw Fiefs have the following restrictions:

+ You can not place Face Cards as Lords into
Danelaw Fiefs.

+ You may not use any Danelaw property cards for
Ransoms or as a Joust Ante.

+ Danelaw Fief properties are not subject to Intrigue.

+ Danelaw Fief properties can not be Raided. When
attacking a Danelaw Fief you must commit to
Sieging it. This rule applies to the Vikings” attempts
to re-conquer the Danelaw as well.

+ Danelaw Fiefs are beyond your own Earldom’s
Towers, and do not benefit from them on defense.

Once a Danelaw Fief has been captured, it plays as
a normal Castle — with strength 2 — and that Fief no
longer has its automatic 2 Viking Infantry defenders.
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A Danelaw Fief is outside of an Earl’s Towers — Towers
do not defend these Fiefs — but an Earl may field
whatever forces they normally may, when defending
their Fief against opponents.

The Vikings and the Danelaw:

When the Vikings arrive the first thing they will do is
attempt to re-conquer any lost Danelaw Fiefs!

If any Earls own Danelaw Fiefs then prepare the Viking
Bag in this special way, when the Viking arrive or are
active:

(Note that this step can be skipped if a single Earl owns
Fiefs in the Danelaw, since the Vikings automatically
attack their holdings, and all Danelaw Fiefs are
otherwise identical.)

1. Remove and carefully set aside the normal cubes in
the bag.

2. Replace them with 1 colored Earl’s cube for each
Danelaw Fief held by an Earl. 1 for each Danelaw
Fief taken (max 3). One Danelaw Fief is getting hit,
and there is nothing Emissary influence can do
about it.

3. Draw using only this special bag set-up until the
Danelaw is fully re-conquered by the Danes. Only
then will the bag operate normally, and the Vikings
will return to attacking Earls in England proper!

When the Vikings attack a Danelaw Fief no Earl is
guiding their attack, they attempt to Siege that Fief’s
Castle. If they take damage in the Battle it is assigned
first to Viking Infantry, and only to Chieftains if no
Viking Infantry remains. The Danes know well their
own lands, and have many settlers there willing to aid
and guide them in their campaigns, minimizing losses.

When and if a Danelaw Fief is recaptured by the
Vikings it then reverts to having its 2 automatic Viking
Infantry defenders. It may again be captured by an
Earl, and if “freed” it will again provide 1 Army card
immediately after it is seized. But, if so, the Vikings will
still only target Danelaw Fiefs until they have secured
their homeland in Britain.
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