
The Normal Earl Card rules of Ortus Regni and the 
normal victory conditions apply.

The Great Earls of the kingdom are able to ensure that 
their own men are placed in the great and high offices 
of the land.

In this variant Earls may place, as an Action, on their 
turn a Vassal card into an available shire office. That 
card remains in its new office. That Earl may then take 
advantage of this office for their own ends in combat.

There are 3 different shire offices on the mat:

High Marshall
The top officer, the Marshall has an attached Knight 
army card.

Shire Reeve
The second most powerful officer, the Reeve has an 
attached Infantry army card.

Alderman (x2)
The two Aldermen have no other resources beyond 
their own entourages.

Vassals in offices are not Vassal Lords. They cannot 
participate in Political Struggles. And they cannot be 
Ransomed when captured in battle.

But once in place Vassal office holders can be used in 
Battle, repeatedly much like Vassal Lords. They can be 
viewed as Vassal Lords without Castles of their own, 
hence not true Lords.

An Earl can field their office holder into battle when 
they wish. The High Marshall is fielded with his Knight 
card, the Reeve is fielded with his Infantry card. The 
Vassal office holder is also in the battle, and that Vassal 
sends 1 damage and can receive 1 damage, as normal; 
with their entourages and squires.

The Knight or Infantry card that accompanies its office 
holder is replenished for each new battle! It does not 
permanently die when assigned 1 damage in any given 
battle.

An office holding Vassal – whether High Marshall, 
Shire Reeve, or Aldermen – can be removed in the 
following ways:

You can Treachery another Earl’s office holding 
Vassal! Following the normal rules of politics. Note, 
office holders are not Vassal Lords and cannot 
themselves participate in Political Struggles.
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The offices of the Shires are the start of a more formal 
secular organization in the early kingdoms of England. 
Evolving slowing, but surely, from ancient traditional Anglo-
Saxon tribal leadership organization into the great royal 
and bureaucratic titles that we recognize today.

2-6 player, Ortus Regni variant

High Marshall



When the Battle Card Result goes against an Earl, 
and they also fielded one or more office holders, all 
their Vassal office holders are killed. You cannot 
pay a Ransom to save an office holder.

You cannot specifically target an office holder 
controlled by another Earl when attacking. They are 
not properties, castles, or Fiefs. They are more akin to 
the King card or a Mercenary on the table.

Note that while the Aldermen have no attached Army 
card they are still almost as good as a Vassal Lord in 
combat, because you will probably get to use them 
several times in battle. And they can be gained without 
having to place a Castle down first. Note also, that if 
you Treachery assassinate another Earl’s office holder, 
you will not also be able to seize that office immediately 
yourself, since placing a Vassal into it would be a 
second action. This means that you might have just 
opened up a nice office for another Earl to seize for 
free!
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