
All normal Ortus Regni card rules and victory 
conditions apply.

Each player gains 3 inheritance items that they may 
use during gameplay. Each of these assets may be 
used once, and are then spent. The mat presents each 
Earl with three small cards. Each card is an asset that 
can be spent whenever needed.

At the start of the game, place Viking Bag cubes 
on these small cards: placing 3 such cubes of the 
appropriate Earl color in front of each player. Then 
remove a cube when an Inheritance card been spent.

In order, from left to right, these Inheritance cards 
are:

Banquet – Vassal
This asset may be spent to Banquet as an Action, or to 
use a Vassal card in play. It is either one or the other, 
not both, and then you have spent this inheritance. 
Note that you may use the Vassal in battle, where it 
plays as if fielded from your Hand, or you may use 
this Vassal in a Political struggle. But this familial 
Vassal has no interest in being sent as an Emissary to 
the Vikings.

Two Infantry
This asset may be spent to have 2 Army Infantry 
cards in play. These 2 infantry do not require Land 
to be fielded into a battle, on attack or defense. They 
must be spent together.

Allies – Church
This asset may be spent to have an Allies card in play, 
or a Church in play. It is either one or the other, not 
both, and then you have spent this inheritance. Note 
that you can use this asset as an Allies card to defend 
yourself against a political attack… and you can also 
back this Allies up by spending the other inheritance 
asset of a Vassal, in a Political struggle; spending 2 of 
your inheritance assets at once.

If you choose to use the Church asset, it plays as if 
it was a Church property in your Earldom, but only 
for that moment, and this temporary Church cannot 
be used in Battle Damage resolutions (i.e. assigned a 
damage point in a Raid) or Intrigues (i.e. offered as 
one property stolen). 

You can spend it to allow yourself to Bequeath even 
when the Cathedral is owned by another Earl. You 
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You are heir to a great old Earldom! Your ancient and 
noble family holds many assets and retainers. You can 
call upon all your house’s wealth to aid your endeavors 
but be careful when spending your family’s carefully 
acquired assets. They took generations to gather make 
sure you spend them wisely.
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can spend it to try and direct a Church Decides Battle 
Result card, but another Earl could also spend their 
Church inheritance to nullify that. In the rare case 
that you have a Monk Lord (an Abbot) in a Fief, you 
can also spend this Church to immediately allow 
yourself to use the Monastery Special Action and 
make another Earl reveal their Hand; but, of course, 
you can only do that once, as this inheritance asset 
would then be spent.

Keep in mind, all Earls have the same starting 
inheritances. These assets initially cancel each other 
out initially in several ways. You could attack with 
your inheritance Vassal and also your two Infantry, 
for instance, but another Earl could spend both of 
those assets as well.

The two Earl Card based inheritance assets also 
represent tricky choices. You may want to Banquet 
and gain two cards, but, do you really want to give 
up the Vassal? Maybe you need to Bequeath despite 
there being a Cathedral on the table, but maybe 
you don’t have an Allies card… do you spent that 
inheritance asset or wait?
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