Armory

2-4 player, Ortus Regni variant mat
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Some might consider the heavily armored knight to be the
final word in medieval combat, but the Long Bow and the
Trebuchet may be the pinnacle of military technology in
the High Middle Ages. Neither one was easy to acquire or
operate, and both require specialized companies of skilled
warriors to field effectively.

The normal card rules of Ortus Regni and the normal
victory conditions apply.

The Armory mat places two specialized military
Companies before each player’s position. To make use
of these companies they must be Captained by a Vassal
card.

To use a company, an Earl must place a Vassal card
down, on their turn, as their Action, on that company.
This Vassal then becomes the Captain of that company,
and remains so until killed in battle or assassinated by
Treachery. These Vassal Captains are not Vassal Lords,
and are instead fully occupied in their special role; and
do not participate in combat in the normal manner,
instead the power of that Vassal Captain’s company -

Long Bow or Trebuchet - may now be used in Combat.

These military companies are not themselves fielded
forces in the normal manner, and instead provide
their unique power to their Earl’s fielded forces; i.e.
that Vassal Captain does not send or receive 1 damage
in battle, and is only there to make that specific and
special military technology available.

Long Bow Company

The Long Bow Company reduces the incoming damage
from opposing Knights, Champions, Mercenaries, and
Viking Chieftains to 1 damage (i.e. all incoming 2’s are
reduced to 1%).

Trebuchet Company

The Trebuchet Company reduces the damage required
to siege a Castle or Palace to 1 point. Therefore all
Properties, Castles and Palaces are strength 1 to an
Earl who can employ the siege train supplied by the
Trebuchet company. Because of this, it almost never
makes sense to employ a Raid attack once you have
this Company active, as a Siege only requires 1 point of
damage to reach the heart of a Fief!

Fielding a Company into Battle

If an Earl has placed a Vassal Captain on one of their
two specialized companies they may then field that
technology into a battle, on defense or offense.

If you choose to field a particular company - or both
- then its special power is applied to that battle. Both
sides can, of course, field specialized companies into
the same battle.
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If the Battle Result card goes against you, though, you
cannot Ransom your Vassal Captains. They are not
proper Lords and do not have that status. If the Battle
Result card goes against you then any Vassal Captains
fielded are lost; their Company is routed and disbanded
in the catastrophe.

However you can reconstitute a lost Company

by placing another Vassal down, as an Action, on
your next turn. Vassal Captains can be Treachery
assassinated. Note, they are not Vassal Lords and thus
cannot participate in Political Struggles.

The Long Bow was the scourge of the mounted knight, able
to pierce incredible thicknesses of armor when used by a
skilled archer as a volley weapon. Long Bows were used to
devastating effect by the English in their wars in France.
The Trebuchet siege train represented here can be thought
of as including all early siege techniques: from ladders and
incendiary projectiles to the denial of drinking water, or the
tunneling of walls or turrets.

These are powerful military tools, how many Vassals can
you afford to use for such exotic resources? But can you
afford not to, lest another great Earl overmatches you on the
battle field?
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